Furthering the Tradition of Excellence

The Alpha Sigma Foundation’s mission is to provide extraordinary learning and educational opportunities to undergraduate members of Alpha Sigma of Chi Psi Fraternity and other students enrolled at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Foundation was formed in 1999 with the generous and visionary gift of Brother Leonard G. Herring ’48. Since that time, we have supported numerous educational and charitable initiatives for Alpha Sigma, such as faculty receptions, Lodge internet connectivity, maintenance and improvements to the Lodge library, and alumni relations.

The Foundation continues to sponsor the annual Summer Enrichment Scholarship program. This program provides financial assistance to selected Alpha Sigma undergraduate members to assist them as they devote their summers to experiences that will enrich the undergraduate members both as scholars and as servants to the greater good.

The Foundation is also pleased to announce the Brothers Remembered, Brothers Honored (Classes of 1965–1970) Award program. Endowed by brothers of the graduating classes of 1965–1970 to memorialize deceased brothers of this era, this annual award recognizes a graduating or recently graduated member of Alpha Sigma who has displayed excellence in academic accomplishments and has contributed citizenship, leadership, and service to the Alpha, the university, and the community. The recognition includes a financial award to support the recipient’s post-undergraduate education.

The Leonard G. Herring Endowment grows with annual gifts from generous brothers and other donors. Each gift is a critical component of the Foundation’s programming and offers a tax-deductible opportunity to support Alpha Sigma.

Our Board of Trustees

The Foundation is governed by a seven-person board of trustees, which currently consists of six alumni and one undergraduate. Our alumni trustees are Scott Norberg ’82 (president), Marc Nelson ’95 (vice president), William Decosimo ’11 (treasurer), David Lloyd ’70 (treasurer), Ben Adams ’04, and Trevor Thornton ’08.